03. 05. 2019

GRE M: Olympiacos ruthless to PAOK in Game 1 of playoff finals, Aleksiev’s back in action

Source: volleyleague.gr; Photo: olympiacossfp.gr

370 0

Olympiacos S.F.P. made the first step towards winning the Greek Men’s Volleyball Championship title.


By defeating the second seed P.A.O.K. in straight sets, partially 25-22-25-22, 25-21, at home (packed Melina Merkouri hall, nearly 2,000 spectators present) in the first match of the 2018/19 Volley League Pame Stoixima playoff finals, the top seed Olympiacos S.F.P. took the lead in the series.

With Bulgarian outside hitter Todor Aleksiev returning to action after a long time, Olympiacos did not give much of a room for the fierce rivals to emerge victoriously tonight. Canadian Gavin Schmitt top-scored for the winning side with 16 points (4 aces). Serbian Aleksandar Okolić notched 17 points for P.A.O.K.

The next match between the two teams will be held on May 6 in Thessaloniki.

2018/19 Volley League Pame Stoixima playoff finals – Game 1:

(1) Olympiacos S.F.P. – (2) P.A.O.K. 3-0 (25-22-25-22, 25-21), series 1-0



Since you are here…

…we have a small favor to ask. WorldofVolley is one of the most popular volleyball websites in the world that provides many volleyball news daily. We are covering many worldwide competitions, trying to inform all of our fans by publishing the breaking news.

Since we want to keep our future much secure, consider this donate button as a way to support our work and to help us grow.


Choose Amount
Do you find this article useful?
+1   Yes     No   0-

No comments on this topic.

Post a comment


Latest comments

#SuperFinalsBerlin W: Novara are #CLVolley champions!

Egonu will now rule the women's volleyball, both at clubs and national team level. Reply

#SuperFinalsBerlin M: Lube reign over Champions League after 17 years!

Who was this CEV English commentator and what has been his experience with volleyball before? How are selected and prepared by CEV the commentators on such event? What were the criteria for selection of the commentator? Who was responsible for his selection and who had approved him? Reply