21. 04. 2019

ISR M: Hapoel Mate Asher Akko claim record 15th championship title

Source: iva.org.il; Photo: לילך וייס

738 0

Hapoel Mate Asher Akko won the Israeli Men’s Volleyball Championship for the record 15th time.


The top seed Hapoel Mate Asher Akko (20-1 regular season) won the 2018/19 IVA Men League playoff final series against the No.2 seed Hapoel Yoav Kfar Saba by a 3-1 to claim the second national title in a row.

Hapoel Mate Asher Akko prevailed in a decisive Game 4, on the road, by a 3-1 (18-25, 25-17, 25-23, 25-23) to become the most titled side in Israeli Men's volleyball with 15 championships, overthrowing Hapoel Hama’apil from the top who remained at 14, leading the list of the IVA League titleholders since 1985. Furthermore, Hapoel Mate Asher Akko lost only 11 matches in all competitions in Israel and won 188 in the last seven seasons.

The middle blocker Slava Bachkala was the best scorer for the titleholders in Game 4 with 17 points (seven kill blocks). The libero Oren Zindorf, the IVA League best receiver this season with 74% reception, made 88% positive reception (16 total, 44% perfect) today. The Polish outside hitter Bartłomiej Kluth top-scored for Hapoel Yoav Kfar Saba with 19 points (three aces).

2018/19 IVA Men League playoff finals – Game 4:

(2) Hapoel Yoav Kfar Saba – (1) Hapoel Mate Asher Akko 1-3 (25-18, 17-25, 23-25, 23-25), series 1-3



Since you are here…

…we have a small favor to ask. WorldofVolley is one of the most popular volleyball websites in the world that provides many volleyball news daily. We are covering many worldwide competitions, trying to inform all of our fans by publishing the breaking news.

Since we want to keep our future much secure, consider this donate button as a way to support our work and to help us grow.


Choose Amount
Do you find this article useful?
+0   Yes     No   0-

No comments on this topic.

Post a comment


Latest comments

TUR W: Guidetti addresses managers and families of EuroVolley U16 winners with request

I am not sure why coach Guidetti would say that. That's their livelihood they are playing at. National pride only lasts a short time then it's back to work playing for a living. Vakifbank is a perfect example of paying big $$ for top players. Do they play for pride? Get real. Motivation is always money. Reply

ECH U16 W: Turkey outplay defending champions Italy to win gold medal

the dominant champion team has only one player in dream team ?? I wonder why other teams with so many valueable(!) players sucked against the turks :D :D Reply

RUS W: Despite renewing with Dinamo Moscow, Ognjenović will join VakıfBank

Wow! Ognjenović had some heated clashes with the Vakifbank coach on court while she was playing for EcZ. I have seen in one video that she was screaming at him. Ognjenović is fiery and the captain of the National Serbia team and is considered one of the best setters (and smart) in the world. I like this move. The current setter for Vakifbank makes bad decisions(and poor sets) at bad times that caused them. Reply